Premier League finally outweighs La Liga in Fifa World XI

Kartik Jain
By Kartik Jain
4 Min Read

Premier League has finally overtaken Spanish League La Liga in Fifa World XI that for decades used to dominate the squad of FIFA. Moreover, it is the first that Premier League players has outweighed La Liga in prestige club of World XI.

In a total of 55 players that FIFA has released, 21 of them are from Premier League with the likes of Harry Kane, N’golo Kante and Raheem Sterling leading the list.

For the team of the season accolade, 8 of the Manchester City players have been shortlisted while 7 of those from Liverpool have been screened. The English league has overtaken the Spanish league by only one more name, thanks to Joao Cancelo.

The 8 players of City to be nominated are Ederson, Joao Cancelo, Aymeric Laporte, Kyle Walker, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero and Raheem Sterling who have a great chance in being the elite group of players.

While the Reds have Alisson Becker, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Andy Robertson, Virgil van Dijk, Roberto Firmino, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah all nominated.

Apart from these group of players, Manchester United’s duo, De Gea and Paul Pogba make into the list despite their club being in a slump.

The whole list of World XI includes 5 goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and attackers each.

Goalkeepers (5):

Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool FC) David de Gea (Spain, Manchester United) Ederson Moraes (Brazil, Manchester City) Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atletico Madrid) Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany, FC Barcelona)

Defenders (20):

Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)Trent Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool FC) Daniel Alves (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain/Sao Paulo) Joao Cancelo (Portugal, Juventus/Manchester City) Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid) Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus) Virgil van Dijk (Holland, Liverpool FC) Diego Godin (Uruguay, Atletico Madrid/Inter) Joshua Kimmich (Germany, Bayern Munich) Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, Napoli) Aymeric Laporte (France, Manchester City) Matthijs de Ligt (The Netherlands, Ajax Amsterdam/Juventus) Gerard Pique (Spain, FC Barcelona) Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid) Andrew Robertson (Scotland, Liverpool FC) Alex Sandro (Brazil, Juventus) Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain) Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid) Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid) Kyle Walker (England, Manchester City)

Midfielders (15):

Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)Casemiro (Brazil, Real Madrid) Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City) Christian Eriksen (Denmark, Tottenham Hotspur) Frenkie de Jong (The Netherlands, Ajax Amsterdam/FC Barcelona) Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid) N’Golo Kante (France, Chelsea) Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)Arthur Melo (Brazil, FC Barcelona) Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid) Paul Pogba (France, Manchester United) Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona) Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City) Dusan Tadic (Serbia, Ajax Amsterdam) Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Barcelona)

Forwards (15):

Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City)Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid) Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool FC) Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico Madrid/FC Barcelona) Harry Kane (England, Tottenham Hotspur) Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich) Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool) Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain) Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona) Neymar (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus) Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool) Heung-Min Son (South-Korea, Tottenham Hotspur) Raheem Sterling (England, Manchester City) Luis Suarez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *