OFFICIAL: Trent Alexander-Arnold wins the PFA Young Player of the Year

By Swapnil
2 Min Read

Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold has been named the PFA Young Player of the Year for 2019-20 Premier League season.

Trent is the sixth Liverpool player to win this prestigious award following the likes of Liverpool legends Fowler, Owen and Gerrard.

Trent defeated fellow England teammates which included Manchester United duo Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood; Chelsea’s Tammy Abraham and Mason Mount; and Arsenal youngster Bukayo Saka.

Trent was previously named the Premier League Young Player of the Season award back in August. He was an important part of the squad that ended Liverpool’s wait for a first League championship in 30 years.

The 21-year-old defender contributed to four goals and 13 assists, playing all of the 38 games last campaign and helped to keep 12 clean sheets.

He also broke the record for most assists for a defender in a league campaign, breaking his own record of 12 assists.

Trent has been a part of one of the most successful eras of Liverpool Football Club winning  the Premier League title, the Champions League, UEFA Super Cup and Club World Cup under Jurgen Klopp.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *