Manchester United front three nominated for PL award

Kweku Lawrence
By Kweku Lawrence
3 Min Read

Manchester United have four players shortlisted for the 2019/20 Premier League Young Player of the Season award.

Mason Greenwood, Dean Henderson, Marcus Rashford and Anthony Martial are part of the eight-man shortlist which was revealed for the TAG Heuer-sponsored trophy.

For the Red Devils, it is a great feat as three of the four are on the list based on their performances for United in the just ended season, while Henderson’s displays at Sheffield United got him the nomination.

The current front three of Greenwood, Martial and Rashford were in scintillating form during the Premier League campaign and it is no surprise that their works have been recognised.

Greenwood made 31 appearances for Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side with only 12 being as a starter, while 19 saw him came off from the bench. The 18-year-old also scored 10 goals for United and provided one assist to crown off a full campaign with the first team.

Martial on the other hand returned to lead the team from the No.9 role, after playing on the wings in his last three campaigns. The Frenchman found the back of the net 17 times in 32 appearances for the Manchester outfit. He also added six assists to his numbers in the league.

Another academy product in the person of Rashford was also instrumental to the club’s fourth place finish last season. Despite being injured at some point of the season, the 22-year-old only missed seven games for United.

The England international also scored 17 times for Solskjaer’s side, his personal best in the league and grabbed a further seven assists in 31 starts.

Other players in contention for the award are Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, Jack Grealish of Aston Villa, Chelsea duo of Mason Mount and Christian Pulisic.

Fans will be allowed to have their say on who deserves to win the award which is sponsored by TAG Heuer.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *