Latest News

The stats behind Leicester’s 2015/16 season


If you’re a Leicester City fan, the heroics of Premier League 2015/16 triumph will stay in memory for quite a long time – yours is quite a good as you may recall it to be one of the greatest sporting stories of all time.

In a bid to cheer you up amid a period of no football, Premier League News Now, if it be of help, though, will be taking you through a series of thread – where we discuss some intriguing moments in the Premier League.

To start up this thread is Claudio Ranieri’s success with Leicester City in the 2015/16 season.

WATCH: Leicester City; From Relegation to CHAMPIONS – 2015/16


Some vital goals popped up in the course of the 2015/16 season, and one man who among them – Jamie Vardy. The Englishman netted a total of 24 league goals only bettered by Harry Kane (25), with Riyad Mahrez providing 11 assists that same campaign.

The forward’s goal-scoring streak was another positive headline during the campaign. Jamie Vardy scored in eleven consecutive Premier League games, breaking the record previously held by Ruud van Nistelrooy.


His goals saw him become the first player since Gary Lineker (1984/85) to score 20 top-flight goals for the club, going on to claim Leicester’s highest Premier League scorer in a single season.


• Being declared champions meant that the Foxes achieved their best ever finish to a Premier League campaign, having finished eight in their previous best – they also finished second in the top-flight in the 1928/29 season.

• Claudio Ranieri’s side also achieved a club high of 23 victories in the top-flight, eclipsing the 21 wins in earned in the 1928/29 and 1965/66 seasons.

• Leicester achieved a feet of 81 points in the 2015/16 campaign, their highest-ever tally in the league.



  • Matches played – 38
  • Games won – 23
  • Games drawn – 12
  • Games lost – 3
  • Goals scored – 67
  • Goals conceded – 35
  • Clean sheets – 14


  • Manager Of The Season – Claudio Ranieri
  • Premier League Player Of The Season – Jamie Vardy
  • PFA Players’ Player Of The Year – Riyad Mahrez


  • Wes Morgan
  • Ngolo Kante
  • Riyad Mahrez
  • Jamie Vardy
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top